Yugoslavia, Serbia & Montenegro

2/05/2013 -- Admin
Share this: 
Rate this: 
Average: 5 (3 votes)

The former Yugoslavia is made up of 7 countries – Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.

Croatia joined the EU on 1 July 2013.  Slovenia is already a member. 

For holidays to Croatia and Slovenia, take your EU medical card, previously known as the E111 form, for basic emergency treatment in state run hospitals.

It can reduce the excess you have to pay if you do need to claim on your travel insurance.

Other former Yugoslav states waiting in the wings for EU membership are Serbia, Montenegro and Macedonia.  Bosnia & Herzegovina and Kosovo are potential candidates.

The UK has reciprocal health agreements with:

  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia

Documents you need to get medical treatment

For Serbia, Montenegro, Macedonia and Bosnia & Herzegovina you must present your UK passport before you can get basic emergency hospital treatment.

If you’re a UK resident but not a UK national, as well as your original passport from your own country, you must present a social security insurance certificate from HM Revenue & Customs Centre for Non-residents.

Remember that healthcare can be hit and miss in Eastern European countries and medicines in short supply.

You may need to pay cash upfront for some services and in some cases up to 20% for medical costs, 70% ambulance costs.

Contact your insurers’ 24-hr emergency no. for advice before parting with cash for treatment.

No like-for-like health care agreement with Kosovo, so comprehensive travel insurance is a must.